Spotlight: Jennifer Wade

JW White Sands 2

Current occupation: Program Director at the National Science Foundation, USA.

Summary: Ph.D. in igneous geochemistry from Boston University (2008). One postdoc experience. Got a job immediately after the postdoc.

“A friend working at NSF knew of my broad expertise, and knew I wanted to move from the lab I was in, so she suggested I apply. I thought, “no way I’m qualified for this!” because of #impostersyndrome and I applied and it turned out I had exactly what they were looking for.”

During the last year of your Ph.D., what did you think was your next step?

I wanted out of academia ASAP, and secured a postdoc as a forensic chemist at the Library of Congress before defending/graduating. That postdoc turned into a regular federal job, though I left it for NSF after a year.

Did you feel supported or encouraged during your PhD to discuss career paths outside of academia? Do you have any recommendations for someone currently going through this process?

I was totally discouraged from leaving academia by my advisor, and had only explored oil because Exxon came recruiting to our department (I was offered a job but turned it down). I do want to note, though, that now she’s super proud of my path and where I’ve ended up. The only reason I knew about the Library of Congress job was because a friend (from middle school!) who worked events there knew I wanted to move to DC (for love) and said, “don’t you do some kind of chemistry?” My advice if you, like me, feel unsupported, is to not just ask other geo-people or even just other scientists what jobs are around, but talk to a bunch of people that you know from all walks of life what kind of jobs they’ve encountered. And to reach out to/explore the websites of places like AGI and ESWN for ideas and friendly conversations. AGI do AMAZING work tracking all the different fields and jobs and degrees that geoscientists get and go into, and ESWN is a mentoring network for women in geosciences. Lastly, keep in mind that honestly, most non-academic employers don’t care what your thesis was on. They just want someone with simple problem-solving skills and an organized brain who is willing to learn.

Did you end up doing a postdoc?

I did, but I only applied for one, and it was a federal postdoc. Federal postdocs are useful if you’re thinking of leaving academia, because they can place you in an agency that gets to know you, and can potentially hire you for a permanent job (or make you extra competitive for one, at least). It happened to me, at the Library of Congress, and I’ve seen it at the USGS and several national labs.

What was the best advice you received during this time?

To try everything at least once. Say yes. Try every possible instrument, field experience, software language, or computer program offered to you. You never know what will be useful in another field altogether.

The decision to leave academia can be difficult. Can you tell us how you came to that decision?

I saw the amount of time my advisor had for a life outside of science, and knew that I wanted something different. I left academia assuming it was a temporary break, but now it’s permanent. Although there is a big caveat: my job is now to fund US academics.

Can you describe how you found your current job?

A friend working at NSF knew of my broad expertise, and knew I wanted to move from the lab I was in, so she suggested I apply. I thought, “no way I’m qualified for this!” because of #impostersyndrome and I applied and it turned out I had exactly what they were looking for. I feel very lucky.

What do you currently do, and for how long?

I’m a Program Director at the National Science Foundation, where I’ve been for 8 years.

What do you like most about your job?

I learn something new every day, and I work with a smart, fun, generous pack of colleagues completely dedicated to our mission: to advance and support science and especially the people who do it.

Do you feel like your job required a PhD?

Yes. I have to understand deeply a big range of science topics as I’m reviewing proposals, assigning external reviewers, and then managing progress on awards we’ve made. I also need the respect of the PhDs whose work I manage, and having one myself helps.

What skills from your PhD do you feel are valuable in performing your duties?

Organization. Prioritization. Thinking through “what if’s”. Designing field and lab projects and understanding timetables and variables. Collaborating with people at different levels of understanding. Communicating, communicating, communicating.

What skills do you wish you had developed more during your PhD?

Calming down when I feel passionate (either because of anger, frustration, or emotion). It bites me in the butt, sometimes. But that’s proving to be a life-long learning process.

Do you feel like you have a better salary/work-life balance than you would in academia?

Yes. The government actually does a pretty good job of ensuring competitive pay, especially where I work, in the DC area. Our agency encourages us to have a healthy work-life balance via policies and cultural vibe, but more importantly, my colleagues and supervisors also respect that balance.

If you have any advice you’d like to add, please do share.

There are so many important jobs out there that will make you feel great and pay well, that challenge your brain and make use of your degree. Try everything, and don’t be afraid to do something that seems random for a year or three. It’s all experience and adds to your CV, it doesn’t weaken it. Don’t let someone else tell you what’s best for you. There are really good lives to be had in parallel to universities, go out and enjoy them.

Along the way, what types of jobs did you find that you thought would be great avenues for other PhD earth scientists?

There are lots of museum jobs! Nearly every museum in any big city has a staff of scientists doing analyses of all kinds (chemical, physical, imaging, you name it). And this isn’t just natural history museums, but art museums and other places that have any collection made of materials. I did this work at the Library of Congress, in collaboration with several Smithsonian museums, and it was fantastic. I know several people who work for law enforcement, doing forensic work at the FBI. I’ve also seen PhD Earth Scientists go into journalism, public policy (so, working for local, state, or federal officials and helping advise them about science stuff). Some have gone on to be medical doctors, some have gone on to be educators, either at K-12 schools or museums, and some have gone to work for places like Google, because they have amazing map skills. I could go on! There are just so many possibilities.

Leave a comment